Persian Charoset

For the next fourteen days I will be devoting my post to one Passover recipe a day.  Who has time for stories?  Hope you try them and enjoy them.

This recipe for Persian Charoset was given to me by a friend many years ago.  One of the wonderful culinary influences in Los Angeles is that of the large Persian community.  Compared to the benign Ashkenazi Charoset of my childhood, this is full of flavor and texture.

An interior decorator, my friend would shape the Charoset into a Pyramid. We now add a small olive wood camel to the presentation.

Persian Charoset
1/2 cup pistachios
1/2 cup blanched almonds
1/2 cup walnuts
1 cup pitted dates
1/2 cup hazelnuts
1/2 cup dark raisins
1/2 cup yellow raisins
1 large apple, peeled
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 orange, diced
3/4 cup sweet red wine
1 tsp. cinnamon

Coarsely chop nuts, raisins and fruit in food processor. Combine all ingredients and blend well.

Enjoy,
Irene

4 thoughts on “Persian Charoset

  1. Hi Irene:

    As I tell Norm frequently in shul, I am an avid reader and user of your recipes. Love the personal stories too.

    It would be helpful if you could add to the recipes how many people they serve, particularly for those of us who are not as experienced as others.

    Thanks. Jeff

    • Thanks Jeff!! Norm told me that he and you spoke about last week and he did mention your request. I promise to try. Which one are you planning to make?? In general my recipes usually serve 6-8 but I will work on improving that aspect.

      Please let me know if you receive this response??

      Chag Sameach,
      Irene

Leave a Reply

