Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

March 26, 2010
Irene Saiger

5 comments

Essia’s Apple Cake

I wrote this last night in a state of exhaustion but I was determined to post a  recipe. I don’t know Essia very well but I wanted to add that I have reliable sources who say she is a very good cook.  Essia, thank you so much for sharing this recipe with me. I am definitely going to make it but I might take the liberty of using strawberries and rhubarb as the filling, for color contrast and because I love rhubarb!

A recipe from a member of Temple Beth Am’s Library Minyan.

Essia’s Passover Apple Cake

Batter

6 large eggs

1 cup oil

2 cups sugar

2 cups cake meal

2 Tbs potato starch

Combine ingredients in food processor for several minutes.

Apple Filling

4 large apples (Granny Smith)

1 lemon, juiced

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tsp cinnamon

Peel and thinly slice apples,  toss with other ingredients. Allow to sit for several minutes.

In a 9 x 11 pan, alternate  batter and apples,  beginning with a layer of batter and ending with a layer of apples.

Topping

Combine 2 Tsp cinnamon with 1 Tsp sugar and 1/2 cup ground almonds or walnuts.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  NOTE:  Essia sent me an e-mail saying she used a springform pan which worked beautifully.

Enjoy,

Irene


5 thoughts on “Essia’s Apple Cake

  1. Wanda: I would love the recipe. If you send it to bamitbach@gmail.com, I will post it on the site!!

    Thanks Wanda and please let me know how the cake comes out.

    Irene

  2. Okay! Rhubarb cubes are marinating in sugar, lemon zest (from something else we were making this evening!), strawberries, lemon juice and potato starch…..will try again
    tomorrow morning with a fresh attitude!

    Can I share my great recipe for Thai Curry Coleslaw with Cashews Recipe with your readers? Everyone who tastes it wants to have the recipe!! It’s really VERY good! (And the thing I always make and bring when involved with a Pot Luck assignment!) Brownie Meringues turned out OUTRAGEOUSLY good! Thanks!

    Love, Wanda

  3. Okay, Emma and I made this recipe this morning and I don’t know WHAT went wrong, but it’s did NOT work out! The only thing we can think of that went wrong on our end (because we followed the recipe exactly!) was that we mix the batter in the food processor, but hadn’t finished preparing the apple filling, so the cake batter sat around for a bit. When we went to pour it into the 9 x11 glass pan, it was so thick and gooey, not wanting to come off the spatula and certainly we were unable to layer batter/filling/ batter/filling. We cooked it anyway and it’s basically inedible (unless you want to take a fork and fish around for the apples which are yummy). The topping’s nice, too, but as a cake……HELP!! What went wrong!?!

    Back to the market to buy more apples and oil!

    • Hi Wanda,

      I compared this recipe to one that another friend gave me and they were similar. I think you may have overprocessed the mixture. Try doing it by hand. I will try making one this week and I will also speak with Essia. Stay posted!!!

      If you want to try a strawberry rhubarb filling:

      Mix together 1 1/2 lbs. rhubarb sliced into approx. 1″ pieces with 3 pints of strawberries, halved, 2 Tsp lemon juice, 2 Tbs potato starch and 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Allow to sit for about 15 minutes.

      Irene

    • Just wanted to let everyone know that I made Essia’s cake. The batter is very thick and needs to be patted down rather than poured into the pan. I added a photo to let you see the results. I did not end up using rhubarb because I could not find any so I used Granny Smith apples. The cake is moist and definately worth making. I used a metal pan and I would trade that for a glass baking dish next time. I also might reduce the cooking time to 45 minutes.
      Enjoy,
      Irene

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers