Sponge Cake


Almost there.  The kitchen is converted, not a speck of Hametz to be found.  It is only Friday afternoon and now in addition to planning for Passover, I am trying to figure out what we will eat tomorrow.  Tonight we are going to our synagogue for Shabbat dinner so one less meal to worry about.  Breakfast will be cheese and fruit but the real concern was afternoon tea.  A group of us have been getting together every Shabbat afternoon for many years but the Shabbat before Pesach is a challenge.  At first I cancelled,  but quickly reconsidered  knowing the day is long and, besides, what would  Shabbat afternoon be like without our friends gathered around.

So, last night I went to the Farmers’ Market and bought beautiful strawberries, a cherimoya, golden beets, purple kohlrabi and purple cabbage.  I came home this afternoon and made a Sponge Cake to serve with the strawberries.  I cooked a pot of quinoa to turn into a cold salad with roasted yellow beets, dried cranberries and mango.  I have no idea what I will do with the purple cabbage but I still have some time.

Truth be told the sponge cake looked beautiful when it came out of the oven (see photo).  It was high and golden and I inverted it and allowed it to cool and guess what? As it does every year, it fell.  I will slice it up and serve it with the strawberries on top and nobody will care. Here is the recipe I used which is pretty simple and I know that others have made with success!!!

Sponge Cake

7 eggs, room temperature

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 Tbs Meyer lemon juice

3/4 cup potato starch

dash of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Beat yolks till they are light and fluffy and turn a creamy yellow color. Slowly add sugar and lemon juice and beat till blended. Add potato starch and mix well.

Beat whites with salt till stiff peaks form. Fold into egg mixture and bake in ungreased tube pan. Invert and allow to cool.

Serve with strawberries.

Enjoy,

Irene

4 thoughts on “Sponge Cake

  1. Hi Irene,

    I had the same experience with my sponge cake. Followed Marcy Goldman’s recipe and it looked beautiful in the oven (see my blog post http://omgyummy.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/omg-ipad-tempting-technology-in-the-kitchen/) but once out of the oven, it fell. I followed Marcy’s directions to turn the pan upside down and let it fall out naturally. But to no avail. Thankfully, with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, it didn’t matter. The flavor was still great.

    Hope you had a wonderful Passover.

    Beth

  2. Hi, Irene! How do I invite my friends to become subscribers to your blog? Is there a standard “invite” form??? I’m LOVING reading your blog! It feels so…..so…. “Julie & Juila”!!
    P.S. I need to know about the type of vinegar for the Brownie Meringues….I went a bought all the other ingredients…!

Leave a Reply

