Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

June 30, 2010
Irene Saiger

11 comments

Schnitzle

For years now a group of our friends have being going to the Hollywood Bowl to celebrate the Fourth of July.  We arrive early, picnic, and then head over to our seats.  It has all the elements of what I consider to be the perfect night: spending an entire evening outdoors, dining and listening to music surrounded by family and friends.  Among us there are two immigrants, one from Canada and one from England,  two first generation Americans, and the rest are “real” Americans.  We have never discussed how we feel about this particular holiday so I have no idea if the others find it as meaningful as I do.  I have always been very aware that my parents could have ended up anywhere in the world when they left France in 1952.  Fortunately they came to this country and made it their home and mine.

Happy Fourth of July!!

My mother’s version of fried chicken, a  traditional Fourth of July dish, was Schnitzle, pounded boneless chicken breasts, breaded and fried. What a great way to combine the old world with the new.

Schnitzle

1 lb. boneless chicken breast, pounded thin

1/2 cup flour

3 eggs, beaten

1 cup bread crumbs

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup oil or more as needed

Place flour, beaten eggs, and seasoned bread crumbs in three separate shallow bowls. In assembly line order, dip each breast in flour, eggs,  and then seasoned bread crumbs.  Heat oil in frying pan (cast iron is best) till sizzling. Fry schnitzle till golden on each side.

Serves 4

Enjoy,

Irene

http://www.foodista.com/food/SSKFCT7S/chicken-breast/widgets

11 thoughts on “Schnitzle

  1. Pingback: Chicken Schnitzle « Bamitbach

  2. I’m not a fryin’ gal, but schnitzel always makes me think of my first trip to Israel. I just love it cut up over a salad.

  3. I adore shnitzel but I make mine gluten free. Sometimes, I use rice flour and others I use ground nuts.

  4. Hi Irene – I love your vignettes! Question (and I know this is probably most insulting) but can you “oven bake” them? I know, I know….blasphemy!

  5. Yum! I followed your blog from Beth@omg! yummy and this is really delicious.What a wonderful recipe!If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  6. Hi Irene, I have never made real schnitzel, but it reminds me of Israel (where I had a mini crises about whether or not to celebrate the 4rth of July). My thoughts went something like “I am in Israel, but I am American, and grateful for all that that has afforded me, but I am Jewish and in the Jewish homeland, and thinking about aliyah (which clearly i did not do). I think as a Jew in Galut, I often am a complex amalgamation, both this and that. When I lived in Israel, I realized how American I am, when I live here, I realize how Jewish to the core I am. I am grateful to be able to live in a land, and at a time where I have the luxury to ponder these things.

    So to all who may be eating schnitzel or fried chicken or tacos or whatever, have a great 4rth!

    The snitzel picture make my mouth water!

    Enjoy the fireworks!

    Barbie

    • Thanks Barbie. The 4th was great and I agree with everything you said. It is a luxury to think about these things! We are so lucky. I appreciate all of your comments and daily support.

      Irene

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers