Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

October 14, 2010
Irene Saiger

11 comments

Lemon Chicken

Three of us share one office.  Granted it is an executive space, with large  floor to ceiling windows and a great view of the city.  Still, the day I learned that two of my colleagues and I would have to reconfigure this space to accommodate all of us, I was filled with trepidation.  Our jobs (caseworkers) require spending a fair part of the day on the phone, helping parents or volunteers deal with whatever issues they may be grappling with.  How was this ever going to work?

It took a willingness to compromise and talk things over,  but two years later, we are more than just colleagues.  Our different approaches and personalities could have been an obstacle, but it turned out to be our strength.  We support and encourage each other when we need it, we confer with each other when faced with challenging situations, we laugh, one of us cries, and two of us cry from laughter.  We talk about our families, pets, books, movies, vacations, work, and, of course, food.

Barbie’s dad owned the famous Nibblers Restaurant and shares her wonderful memories of growing up there.  A creative cook, Barbie often describes the concoction she had prepared the night before, using whatever she had in the kitchen.  Susan, not so much a foodie, has some dishes that she has perfected and relies on, like Mac N’ Cheese, Butter Tarts and Lemon Chicken.

Some would find our situation impossible.  We spend more time together than we do with anybody else, eight hours a day, five days a week, in close quarters.  There is no privacy, sort of like three children sharing a bedroom, but I must admit, I never really liked having my own room.

Susan’s Lemon Chicken

2 lbs. boneless chicken breasts  (I used strips)

flour for dredging

6 Tbs olive oil

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

1/2 cup white wine

2 cloves minced garlic

juice of 1 1/2 lemons

salt and pepper to taste

Lightly dredge chicken in flour, shaking off excess.  Using a frying pan, brown chicken in olive oil and remove from pan, placing in a Pyrex dish.  Add garlic, broth and wine to frying pan, using a wooden spoon to scrape up any bits from the bottom of the pan.  Add lemon juice, salt and pepper and pour mixture over chicken. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

Enjoy,

Irene

11 thoughts on “Lemon Chicken

  1. Hi Irene ( and of course Susan),

    As one of the Muskatteers, I was also anxious when I learned we would all share an office. But I also had another reaction which outwieghed the anxiety. You, Irene, were the one who suggested that we all sare an office, so I would not be by myself. That meant, and concitnues to mean, a lot to me.

    I have learned a lot from both you and Susan, about work, but also about life and relatioships and sharing space.

    I was the kid who wanted to share a room, and my sister didn’t. So, I am really glad that now, albeit belatedly, I get to have that experience.

    XO, Barbie

    PS one day, I HAVE to learn to follow a recipe! As soon as that happens, I will follow one of yours! For now, I am content with all the amazing foodie talk we get to have in the office.

  2. hi, it is funny but i cooked this chicken before, i didnt use wine, i will try it with wine next time so we can get drunk a little [why not]

  3. Tell Susan, heh! You’ve never made that for me!

    Yummy, Irene. I love savory lemon dishes too.

    BTW – your bean and barley soup is on the stove as I post this. I confess, however, I changed the recipe. Cook’s prerogative. It’s a soup day!

    I miss your cozy office and my visits downstairs when I craved support and friendship during my day! Enjoy it!

    Lori

    • Hi Lori,
      I will let her know. She never made if for me either, but I am happy to make it for both of us!

      It is a soup day, let me know how it comes out.

      We miss having you here!!!

      Shabbat Shalom.
      Irene

  4. Irene! What a lovely post. I know your work set up and of course your co-workers very well ;) and I still love hearing about what a warm and family-type of relationship you guys have cultivated over there. I don’t know what to try first, Susan’s chicken dish or your Moussaka?
    Shani

  5. Is this from Susan N ?
    I am going to have to try this – it looks so easy. I love anything made with lemon

  6. I LOVE having my own room! The chicken sounds like tomorrow night’s dinner :)

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers