Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

January 14, 2011
Irene Saiger

6 comments

London Broil

I did not grow up in a home where there was a weekday breakfast ritual.  In fact during the cold winter months my mother would crawl into my warm bed and gently wake me.  While I dressed, my mother stayed in bed and watched, not bothering to get up and prepare breakfast for me and my sister.  No pot of warm oatmeal was left on the stove top nor was there a saucepan of hot chocolate simmering away.  I would get ready and go off to school, no fanfare and no breakfast.  My mother, who spent her life in her kitchen, thumbed her nose at breakfast.

When I was a little older, and clearly watching television, Tony the Tiger entered my life.  Breakfast was contained in the large rectangular box that held Frosted Flakes.  Cereal and milk seemed to be the perfect combination (although the thin sugar-coated flakes quickly became soggy if you weren’t a fast eater).  A breakfast that was easy and effortless, all you needed was a spoon and a bowl.  How American!

Our children were also raised eating cold cereal (the unsweetened variety) during the week, but Sundays were special.  It was Norm’s turn to make breakfast and he seemed to enjoy the role of being the short order cook.  You could choose to have eggs, hash browns, pancakes, or French toast made with leftover challah.  Eventually our tastes changed and we preferred breakfasts that were less sweet and more savory.  Tortillas, beans, guacamole, eggs are now common breakfast ingredients in our home.  If  we happen to have any leftover steak, then that too is heated and served.

My mother cooked for us every night, made our lunches, and prepared our snacks, but I must say that this simple morning ritual of preparing breakfast for your child, even an adult child, is an experience that she missed.   The author Maya Angelou, when recently interviewed on NPR, said “I’m concerned that Americans are losing that place of meeting.”  “There are very few times we can be more intimate as to share food together.”   In my humble opinion, she is right.  Try it.

London Broil

2 lbs. London Broil

1/3 cup ketchup

1/3 cup red wine

1/3 cup soy sauce

Marinate meat for several hours and then grill for about 5 minutes per side.

NOTE: Take any leftover steak and thinly slice. Add to cast iron pan along with eggs. Top with salsa, and guacamole and some warm tortillas.

Enjoy,

Irene

 

6 thoughts on “London Broil

  1. I make a very similar roast recipe and it is always a big hit. It also freezes and rewarms well which is a big plus.
    I really enjoyed reading this post because my childhood was similar. We always had lovely home cooked dinners and no fuss breakfasts. I am the same way now, but like my mother, I always make a point of making something yummy and fresh on Sunday morning. I’m off from work and the kids get off to a slower start too. It’s nice to lounge around eating French toast or eggs. Great way to start the week!

    • Thank you Rivki!! Not sure what generation you are but I think breakfast in general wasn’t such a big deal. We usually had bagels, lox and cream cheese on Sunday. When I go to NYC, we still do.
      The steak is great slice in a taco too.
      Irene

  2. looks so easy to make i have to try it when i will be back from israel, your stories are amazing as usual, love rachel

  3. GREAT post, Irene! You are turning into a real writer.
    It made me hungry for breakfast — and I never eat breakfast…

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers