Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

June 29, 2011
Irene Saiger

9 comments

Vegetarian Chili

What can I say,  I have been missing in action for a few weeks but I do have a good excuse.  We are heading to Texas where our eldest son is getting married.  Too busy to do much cooking but not too busy to contemplate the importance of sharing food with the people you love.  Good food elevates the spirit, just think about how you feel when you bite into something special and delicious, made for you with loving care. This has been a week when many of us have been preparing food for all the wonderful celebrations that are coming up.  Two of my friends prepared 8 lbs. of sweet and sour meatballs for a Shabbat dinner that they and other close friends are hosting in honor of the newlyweds.  Norm and I did spend some time baking, and everything we baked was made with someone else in mind.  I prepared three pumpkin chocolate chip breads at the request of the bride’s sister and Norm made two Challot at the request of the bride’s brother.  The bride asked for cholent which I will make for Shabbat lunch after they all arrive in town next week.  My daughter asked for a fruit crisp and I am considering blueberries and peaches (now that summer fruit is here.)  The bottom line is, it doesn’t have to be fancy, difficult, or complicated but the simple act of feeding someone is so nurturing and loving.  For those of you with children, my advice is to get started right away because in the blink of an eye they will be standing under the Chuppah.

My daughter has become a great hostess and I love knowing that she too has a passion for good food and feeding her friends.  She made this chili at one of her parties and apparently it was a big hit.

Shira’s Vegetarian Chili

2 Tbs olive oil

1 med onion, chopped

1 red pepper chopped

1 yellow pepper, chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 cup beer

1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes

1 15 oz. can red kidney beans

1 15 oz. can black beans

1 Tbs cumin

2 Tbs chili powder

1 tsp kosher salt

1 15 oz can vegetarian refried beans

1 pkg frozen vegetarian crumbles (meat substitute)

Saute peppers and onion in olive oil for several minutes.  Add remaining ingredients and simmer for about two hours.  Serve with tortilla chips, sharp Cheddar cheese and diced green onions.

NOTE: If you like your chili spicy I would add 1 Tbs. Tabasco and/or 1 Tbs. chili powder.

Serves 4-6

Enjoy,

Irene

9 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chili

  1. Very cool! I’m going to make this this weekend! Sounds delicious… I’m going to invite my aunt over too so she ccan have some.. thanks for sharing this with us! I really appreciate it!

  2. Mazal tov to one and all! So sorry I can’t come…keep an eye out for my son and daughter, Bezalel and Eliraz Fisher :)

  3. Nope, nope, nope. I cannot believe you found the time to share yet another wonderful food story with us and such a delicious looking recipe. Can’t wait to celebrate with all of you this weekend. Hugs, kisses and an early mazel tov. See you soon.

  4. I guess this post is “one for the road” as you will be en route tomorrow. And this one is just as lovely as the rest – and as yummy sounding.

    Have a wonderful weekend, and I look forward to joining “ya’all” there.

    Lori

  5. I am so happy to be a part of the close friends who are making the “sheva brachot” party for David and Elizabeth. It’s a great honor and I have learned so much from you! Mazel tov! I can’t wait to make Shira’s vegetarian chile when I get back.
    Lots of love,
    Rena

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers