Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

August 19, 2011
Irene Saiger

9 comments

Gingerbread Cake

When we were growing up, it seemed that someone was always dropping in to visit with my mother.  They would sit at the kitchen table and talk, usually over a cup of coffee.  My mom’s closest friend, Fanny, would nibble on a spoonful of  jam instead of  a cookie.  Our lifestyle is not really conducive to dropping in on friends in such a casual way,  and so I was thrilled when my friend Lori came by last Sunday afternoon with a warm cake,  just out of the oven, and a book that she knew I would love.  We sat and chatted, and I was reminded of what we have lost in the shuffle of our busy schedules.  I miss dropping in on friends and I miss having friends drop in on us, but the sad part of the story occurred to me afterwards,  and that was that I never even offered her a cup of coffee.

Lori sent me the recipe along with a little explanation.

The recipe is called “Gingerybread” and is adapted (by me) from a lovely little breakfast/brunch cookbook from the Grant Corner Inn, a bed and breakfast located in a 106 year old Victorian house in Sante Fe, New Mexico.  It makes a large 10 x 14 inch cake that can easily serve more than 12 people.
Gingerybread
1 cup butter
1/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup dark molasses
1 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
2 TBSP strong coffee
1 3/4 boiling water
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 3/4 tsp soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup chopped candied ginger
Preheat oven to 325 and grease a 10 x 14 inch baking pan.
Cream shortening and sugar until fluffy.  Blend in eggs, coffee, vanilla, molasses and honey.  Stir in boiling water and set aside.
In a medium bowl sift together dry ingredients and then mix into liquids, blending well.
Fold in candied ginger. Bake at 325 for about 45 minutes or till top springs back when touched.
PS – The cookbook states that this recipe is similar to the way gingerbread is made in Scotland – dark and substantial.  My adaption was to omit the zest of an orange and substitute vanilla and coffee for 2 TBSP of brandy.
Note: This cake would be perfect for the holidays as an alternative to honey cake.  Lori halved the recipe without a problem and is experimenting with oil to make a pareve version.
Enjoy,
Irene

9 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cake

  1. I Like this recipe but I like your story even more. I often feel that we have lost that spontaneity of an era gone by. I must say though, that I feel comfortable just dropping in on you Irene. I know I don’t do it often enough, but you are one of those few friends whom I feel I could easily do this with and be welcome. I love you, I love your blog, I love your stories.
    Susan

  2. I agree! My mom always talks about how her mom had fresh home-baked goods and that family and friends always stopped by to visit and share the yummies.

    Another great story and recipe Irene! Thanks for sharing.

  3. PS – I had already had my coffee!

  4. Nope already had the story in my head. Thanks for everything and Shabbat Shalom.
    Irene

  5. Nope, already had the story in my head!!! Thanks Lori and Shabbat Shalom.

    Irene

  6. Thanks again Irene for your sharing of stories and recipes. I have been to the “Grant Corner Inn” It was lovely . I think I gave Lori the cookbook from the Inn.
    Shabbat Sholom
    Mollie :-)

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers