Mexican Hot Chocolate

My youngest son is moving to New York City today so at 6 a.m. this morning I got up and prepared a special breakfast to send him off.  The winds have been howling for the past two days here in Los Angeles, almost as if they too are sad to see him go. When he wakes up he will find a plate of sautéed tomatoes, mushrooms, and onions, all scrambled together with eggs, served with a side of veggie sausages and fresh guacamole.  Of course I wanted to make something special to warm his insides before he deals with the realities of life in New York City and so I prepared a pot of hot chocolate, added some cinnamon, a little vanilla, and a touch of chili powder. Bittersweet.  Bon Voyage and B’hatzlachah!

Mexican Hot Chocolate

4 Cups milk

1/2 Cup U-Bet Chocolate Syrup

1 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla

1/2 tsp ground chili powder

Simmer all the ingredients together and adjust sweetness to your taste.  I would top it with fresh whipped cream and sprinkle with cinnamon.  Serves two because it is always nicer to share a cup of cocoa with someone else.

 

Enjoy,

Irene

11 thoughts on “Mexican Hot Chocolate

  1. I keep telling Shira that you and your husband should get a pied a terre now that all of your kids are in NYC! I hope to see you during your next trip, Love Heidi (p.s. Mexican hot chocolate is a great treat!)

    • Thanks Heidi! I think Shira needs to get one with lots of extra space for us.

      Sorry that we didn’t get to visit but I will be back in the Spring and will definitely make dinner and hot chocolate for dessert!
      Love,
      Irene

  2. 1. You made me cry.

    2. Micah (not to mention Shira, David and Norm) are so lucky!

    3. I read it again and cried again :(

    You’re not alone in LA — I would love to have you fix ME a breakfast like that — ANYTIME.
    love you!!

Leave a Reply

