Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

December 15, 2011
Irene Saiger

12 comments

Latkes for a crowd

Sometimes it really is the little things in life that makes you happy.  Today I had a perfect afternoon.  I came home from work early, planning to make my latkes so I could freeze them, something I don’t normally do but this year I needed to make lots of them.  Unexpectedly it began to rain which only added to the coziness of the kitchen.  I turned on my favorite radio station which plays Christmas songs this time of year, (I happen to love Christmas music) and peeled ten pounds of potatoes.  I know it sounds crazy but to actually have the luxury of spending a weekday afternoon in the kitchen felt decadent.  It took about 3 1/2 hours from start to finish but during that time two friends came to visit, one carrying lattes for each of us.  Rain, that distinctive smell of latkes frying, music, friends, and good coffee.  It doesn’t get better than that.  Happy Holidays.

This recipe made exactly 150 latkes.  If you want a smaller version, here is the recipe I normally use for latkes.

 

Potato Latkes for a crowd

10 pounds Russet potatoes,  peeled and cut into eighths.

4 large onions, cut in chunks

17 eggs

4 1/2 cups matzoh meal

3 Tbs salt

Canola Oil ( Lots )

Pour oil into three large frying pans until oil comes halfway up the sides of the pan.  In the meantime, in batches, fill the bowl of a food processor with potatoes and a handful of onions, and process till mixture is fine.  Pour into large mixing bowl and add 3 beaten eggs, 1 1/2 tsp salt, and 3/4 cups matzoh meal.  Mix well.  When oil is hot, place large spoonfuls of mixture in pan but do not overcrowd.   Fry till golden on one side and flip over.  Serves 35-40 people.

Enjoy,

Irene

12 thoughts on “Latkes for a crowd

  1. Pingback: Chanukah Recipes « Pragmatic Attic

  2. Now it is my turn to be super impressed. Wow. That is huge job, making that many latkes. And they look fantastic. Kol Hakovod.

    I compared the large batch to the small and I see that it isn’t the same recipe scaled up. The large batch seems to have more matzoh meal and less egg per potato. How did you come up with the large batch recipe, and do the latkes from the different recipes taste different?

    Shabbat Shalom and Chag Sameach!

  3. Ah, latke season. You are industrious. I always make them right before serving.

    I found your blog by following Pragmatic Attic’s.

    • Hi Leora,

      Thanks for e-mailing me!! I used to do that as well, once upon a time but this year I would miss the party, my husband’s 60th combined with Channukah, so I decided to bite the bullet and hopefully they will still taste good.
      Chag Sameach.
      Irene

  4. looks amazing, u lucky i am not your neighbor, i would be there along time ago, hag samech

  5. boy do those latkes look yummy!!!!! You are one lucky lady to have frineds that care enough not only to visit but bring the coffee!!!!!!!!!did it really make 150 or 151 for the testers…….

  6. Now we need instructions for freezing!

    • Just lay them on a cookie sheet, single layer and freeze for about an hour. Then you can put them in freezer bags, gently! I am going to reheat them at a high temperature for just a few minutes.

      Shabbat Shalom,
      Irene

  7. I’m very excited. This looks delicious

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers