Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

March 29, 2012
Irene Saiger

9 comments

Loretta’s Chocolate Chip Mandelbroit

“A living stew of inconsistencies” is how our friend Meyer described himself in a Dvar Torah that he gave several weeks ago.  Many of us are inconsistent in how we practice or observe Judaism, but Passover is a holiday when perfectly rational people behave in irrational ways.  My daughter has repeatedly accused me of being too “machmir” (strict) when it comes to Pesach.

I actually made a decision that this year would be different and I would adopt a come what may attitude.  My plan was to arrive back East and cook, not get involved in the kashering, and only minimally involved in the shopping.  I was doing SO well until tonight when I stopped at Western Kosher on my way home, my excuse being that I wanted to see any new Passover products that came on the market.  I swore that I wouldn’t buy anything, but here I am sitting at the kitchen table writing this post and in front of me there are six shopping bags filled with all kinds of Passover groceries.  Who could resist Masala Chai Tea???   Somehow they will all need to be packed into our luggage along with a tin of our favorite Passover Mandelbroit that I will bake on Sunday.  There are some things that never change, no matter how hard we try.

I wish each and every one of you a Zisn Pesach.

Loretta’s Chocolate Chip Mandelbroit

3 sticks margarine

2 cups sugar plus an extra 4 Tb for sprinkling

6 eggs

2  3/4 cups cake meal

3/4  cup potato starch

1/2 tsp kosher salt

2 tsp cinnamon

2  12 oz. bags of chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Reserve 4 Tb sugar and mix with 2 Tsp cinnamon and set aside.  Cream sugar and margarine.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each egg.  Add dry ingredients.  Divide dough into 4 equal portions and with oiled hands, form 4 loaves, divided between 2 greased cookie sheets.  Sprinkle each loaf with an equal amount of the cinnamon sugar mixture.  Bake for about 30-40 minutes. Slice loaves and place Mandelbrot cut side up, sprinkling with more cinnamon sugar.  Return to oven and bake another 10-15 minutes per side or till crisp.

Enjoy,

Irene

9 thoughts on “Loretta’s Chocolate Chip Mandelbroit

  1. Hi, Irene.

    It brought a smile to my face when I finished reading your blog and read the same words I used last night when I wished a very good friend a “zisn pesach.” I was telling her what wonderful sedars you and Norman always had in your home. With the children all being in NY that will now probably change. It is so sad but I am sure that the sedar in Connecticut will be just as joyful and all the songs will be sung and the food will be delicious. Sing one my way. Have a wonderful and very “zisn” pesach.

    Love, your shvester.

    • I will really miss having both you and Jeffrey. Seders aren’t the same without you insisting that we sing every single song in every single version!! We can’t let this happen again!!!

      Love you both,

      Irene

  2. Looks delish – beautiful photo – thanks! Wendy Brachman Fisher (Nancy’s cousin)

  3. You just had to see what was new!!!!! RIGHT oh well somethings just never change. thank goodness . Now for the baking I think i will be over just watch and then maybe try it next year after I actually see the real thing…….

  4. Irene-
    All our love and best wishes for a wonderful Pesach with your family. Send our regards to the kids and I look forward to hearing about your food experiences.

    Elayne

  5. Who knew you were such a frummie? I’ll miss you so much this year! Have a wonderful time (if that’s possible without US).

    Love,
    elin

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers