Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

September 1, 2013
Irene Saiger

6 comments

Beet, Fennel, and Mango Salad

photo-17My sister is in town, and it isn’t surprising that the conversation often turns to our mother, hers and mine.  The discussion typically begins with Anita recalling how, “our mother used to say…” ,”used to prepare…”,  “used to pronounce…” or “used to like…”, and ends when I respond by saying, “not my mother.”   There are eight years between us and in some ways we did have different mothers.  Anita was born and spent her early years in post-war Paris, while I was a child of the 1950s, born in The Bronx.  With each of us, our mother was busy adjusting to a new country, culture, language, and cuisine.   As the younger sister I must admit that I thoroughly enjoy this verbal sparring  but I’m not sure my sister feels the same way.

Preparing for Rosh Hashana, I feel an obligation to make some of the dishes that we both remember, and agree, that our mother served every Yontif.  I will make her Chicken Soup with kreplach, garlic chicken with roast potatoes, and make sure to include carrots for a sweet year.  The gefilte fish has been eliminated from the menu, as has the honey cake.  Instead of Tzimmis, I will prepare a fresh raw salad, colorful and slightly sweet, still using some ingredients that were often found in my mother’s kitchen, but with a new twist.

I remember my mother wishing that the New Year would be at least as good as the last, and no worse.  I called my sister to confirm this, and of course, she said  that her mother never said that.  Luckily, some things never change.  Wishing you all a Zisn Yontif, on that we can all agree.

Note: This recipe was adapted from a salad prepared in my home several weeks ago by the chefs from Puzzle Israel.

Beet, Fennel and Mango Salad
1/2 head of red cabbage thinly sliced
2 large red beets, peeled and Julienned
2 firm mangoes peeled and Julienned
3 or 4 large carrots, peeled and shredded
1 fennel bulb, cored, and slivered
1/2 red onion, peeled and thinly sliced

Dressing

1/2 cup olive oil

1/ 4 cup lemon or lime  juice

1 Tb sesame oil

1 tsp salt

I would add a few drops of honey for some extra sweetness

Enjoy,

Irene

6 thoughts on “Beet, Fennel, and Mango Salad

  1. Fern and I laughed out loud (on that we could agree), and enjoyed reading your blog in our mother’s home (same mother as Norm, or so I think…)! Shana tova and love Gail

    [image: Inline image 1]

    * * Fern Braniss, Adv. פרן ברניס, עו”ד * * office tel/fax: (972)-77-7919389 mobile: (972)-52-3847953 *

    *

  2. this sounds just amazing and I wish i could make it for kiddush lunch but maybe next year………yummy and have a wonderful happy new year……

  3. Thanks for this great recipe…looks amazing! Think I’ll make it either erev or for Shabbat. Wishing you and yours a sweet, healthy and happy new year With love Jessica

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 445 other followers