Linda’s Sweet Potato Pie

photo-24Norm said that the freezer is full, no room to fit another thing.  We are one week away, my Chanukah shopping is finished, the gifts are wrapped, the menus planned for Wednesday, Thursday and Friday night.  All that’s left is the turkey, the sides and two more desserts, a chocolate ginger cake and pumpkin chocolate chip bread.  Desserts are key on Thanksgiving, less so on Chanukah.  What’s not to like about a jelly doughnut?

Our traditional Thanksgiving dessert is pumpkin chocolate chip bread but we always have a pie, or two, as well.  My personal favorite is pecan pie, but since my kids never developed a taste for it, it fell off the menu years ago.  My daughter prefers fruit pies, I like pumpkin.  There is one pie that I have wanted to try for years and that’s Sweet Potato pie (Have you noticed that I love Southern food? Strange for a kid from the Bronx.)  Last week my friend Linda and I were discussing Thanksgiving menus when she told me she was preparing 60 sweet potato pies, using ready-made crusts.  We figured out how to cut her recipe down to enough filling for two pies and armed and ready, I went home and made them.

I brought one to a friend who had invited us for Shabbat dinner, and put the other in the freezer.  The pie was a hit, although the ready-made crust was not, a good lesson to have learned in advance of the holidays. When Linda asked how the pies turned out, I was happy to give her a glowing report.  The filling wasn’t overly sweet, the texture was perfect (Linda told me that she doesn’t like runny pies) and the flavor….Fall was in every bite.

Did I mention that Norm said there is no more room in the freezer?  There will be in about an hour.

Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Chanukah to all of you.  It’s been great getting all of your comments.  Can’t wait to hear how it all turns out.

Sweet Potato Pie

Filling for two pies.

7 small red fleshed sweet potatoes

1 stick margarine

2 tsp vanilla

2 heaping tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp allspice

1/3 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 Tb flour

3 eggs

1/2 cup unflavored soy milk

Preheat oven to 375.  Boil sweet potatoes in their skins till soft.  Then remove from water, wait till they are cool enough to handle and peel. Linda said to then place the peeled potatoes on a dish in the oven for about 10 minutes, removing excess moisture.   Place sweet potatoes in bowl and mash, then add melted butter,  spices, vanilla, flour, sugars, beaten eggs, and soy milk.  Place mixture in food processor for a minute or two just to smooth out.  Pour into pie shells and bake for about 45 minutes.  I have included a basic pastry crust below.

Enjoy,

Irene

Pastry

1 1/2 sticks butter (or pareve margarine)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 Tb sugar

2-3 Tb ice water  (VERY IMPORTANT)

Cut cold butter or margarine into cubes and place in bowl of food processor.  Add flour and sugar.  Start processor, pouring ice water through feeder tube but only enough for dough to gather into a ball.  Remove dough, wrap in Saran and refrigeration for two hours or up to two days.  Try to handle dough as little as possible.  Roll out on lightly floured board and place in pie dish.

11 thoughts on “Linda’s Sweet Potato Pie

  1. Hi, Irene.

    As usual I read the blog on my iphone and somehow it does not do well with comments.
    First of all, I hope you will find some time to enjoy the fruits of your labor. Second of all, I am glad that it is sweet potato pie that I will be missing by not being there. I have never tasted a sweet potato pie and although I am sure that it is delicious I would be very upset to read that you were baking an apple pie or berry pie, either of which, are favorites of mine.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with family and friends and a very happy Chanukah.

    Love,
    Your shvester

    • Dear Anita,

      If you had come, I would have made any pie that your BIG heart would have desired. Happy Thanksgiving and Chanukah to you and Jeff. Hope to see you both soon!!

      Love,
      Irene

  2. Pingback: Sweet Tooth for the Holidays!!!! | deandriagrant

  3. Definitely going to send this on to Abby — she’s the pie maker of the family :)
    Also, I am so impressed (and depressed) by all your preparations. As usual, I haven’t done a thing…

  4. I kvell every time I read one of your stories. I am so happy every post. I am also equally impressed that you are hosting 3 dinners in a row and are almost done and the gifts are wrapped. The Yiddish expression/compliment would be that you are a berriour. (transliteration)

    Chag Samayach to all that will grace your tables, Estelle

  5. Wow, Irene, I’m very impressed with Linda making 60 sweet potato pies! Is she having a garage sale??? I won’t be making anything with pastry for a week or two! I went for a walk on Tuesday morning and rounded a corner to see the sidewalk – like the American? – covered in ice. As I turned to avoid walking there I slipped and landed on the ground! I felt okay but as the afternoon progressed so did the pain in my arm! I had it checked out and thankfully nothing is broken. I have damaged the muscle or tendons in my shoulder so am not quite as supple as usual! Hopefully it won’t be too long in healing. I can still manage a lot on my own but am avoiding putting on anything which involves raising my arm so am wearing front fastening tops. I can prepare food up to a point but making everything more simple than usual. You sound very well organised. We don’t have Thanksgiving as you know and I won’t be making much special for Chanuka this year. We had Varda here for less than forty eight hours at the weekend. She had a training course in London on Thursday and Friday so flew up until Sunday late afternoon. It was really lovely having her here. We have no plans to travel at the moment as Michael not ready. Hope all is well with you and the family. Has David had any luck yet with a job? Love Ruth

    >

    • Hi Ruth,

      That’s really funny and I will tell her. She has a large family and they have an enormous Thanksgiving dunner. Apparently every room in the house is filled with extra tables for the occasion. I envy her for her large family and her endless energy. I am sorry to hear about your tumble, take care of yourself and Michael too. Happy Chanukah to both of you!!

      Love,
      Irene

  6. OMG. Your freezer looks sensational not to mention the yummy tummies you will fill. Outstanding job.. Now relax and enjoy the holidays.

Leave a Reply

