Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

June 27, 2014
Irene Saiger

8 comments

Pan- Fried Trout

photo-2The family vacations we took with my parents were typically to parks in California.  Sequoia, Yosemite, Mammoth, Big Sur, Lake Tahoe.  They were simple vacations, all within driving distance.  There were eight of us, and we usually stayed in cabins inside the parks, ate in the park concessions, and spent our days hiking or going on ranger walks.

We just returned from a family trip to Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, and though my parents are no longer alive, I thought of them often during this particular trip.  I knew how much my father would have enjoyed the wildlife, and I was sure that my excitement at seeing bison and bears would have paled in comparison to what his reaction might have been.  I thought of my mother and knew how much she would have loved being with us, to have had the opportunity to see her grandchildren all grown up,  and get to know her granddaughter-in-law.  I knew that they would have “kvelled” when their youngest grandson broke the family record of never having caught a fish, by catching a beautiful trout in Lake Yellowstone.  I was grateful for the memories I had of watching my mother prepare fish, so when I found myself suddenly faced with the task, I was able to stun, kill, gut, and scale the trout as my husband and kids looked on.  An hour later the trout was  presented to us on platters, graciously prepared by the chef at Lake Lodge.

We’ve been home for a week, but I am still thinking of our trip, and especially Yellowstone.  Instead of our typical Shabbat dinner, tonight we are having fish.  Trout, of course.

As one of the guides said to me, “Americans are always going somewhere else, but there is plenty of beauty in our own backyard.”  Amen and Happy 4th of July.  Shabbat Shalom.

Pan-Fried Trout 

The chef at Lake Lodge told me  she soaked the trout in milk for a few minutes, then lightly dredged it in flour, and seasoned to taste.  The only thing I changed is that I added some cornmeal to the flour mixture for extra crunch, and pan-fried the trout in my cast iron pan.

1  3-4 pound trout, boned and cut into fillets

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup flour and equal amount of cornmeal

1/2 tsp salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp paprika

3 Tb butter

1 Tb olive oil

Soak trout in milk to cover for about 15 minutes. Drain and pat dry.  Combine flour and cornmeal and add seasonings.  Lightly dredge trout, then shake off excess coating.  Put butter in a cast iron pan along with olive oil.  Melt butter and place fillets in hot pan, skin side up, for about 5 minutes, depending on size.  Turn over and cook an extra five minutes, adding more butter if necessary.  Serve with lemon wedges, fresh corn and a cold beer.

Enjoy,

Irene

 

8 thoughts on “Pan- Fried Trout

  1. Soooo nice to read and hear about. During my trip to Sequoia, i thought of my family trips to the sierras as well. Also thought of you as I was walking by myself and singing to the bears. xo, barbie

  2. As always love the stories… The recipes are good but that really would require more than reading and enjoying… I get such happiness that you do it all!!!!!that way I get pleasure knowing you hope that someday I. Ought make a recipe”” But until then keep those wonderful stories coming….

  3. Looks delicious! Jessica Sacher

  4. I too have had fish in my mind lately. (Your recipe sounds delightful, by the way!) A friend in Victoria decidedly randomly to make gefilte fish a couple of weeks ago, a first for him. I’ve always been neutral about gefilte fish, much to my nother’s consternation. But Rafi bought the best fresh fish, and his gefilte fish was superb. I so wanted to call my mom and tell her: “Ma, I finally found a gefilte fish I like!” Random sad moments, of thoughts and adventures we can no longer share with them. Thanks for sharing your memories of your parents, Irene! Love Gail

    • Well, it is nice to have during the summer. Why was it so good? Hard for me to imagine that I would call any gefilte fish superb so now I am curious???

      I know just how you feel, I still catch myself feeling sad all these years later.

      Thanks Gail!!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers