Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

August 31, 2014
Irene Saiger

6 comments

Lemony Zucchini Ribbons

photo-2With the New Year approaching, it was time to spruce up my blog with a “new” look.  A BIG thank you to my son Micah who made it happen.  Hope you like it!!

Several weeks ago my daughter was visiting when she wanted to make a salad that she had eaten at the home of family friends in the South of France.  I was very skeptical when she described it to me, but the results were surprisingly delicious.  My doubts were based on my inability to imagine that zucchini could actually be transformed with just a touch of salt, lemon and olive oil.   I made the salad again this morning and fed it to my son’s girlfriend Anna, who looked at it with the same skepticism that I had initially felt.  After one bite and an “oh my g-d,” she asked for more.  You will too!

 

 

Lemony Zucchini Ribbons

4 small zucchini

1 Tb good quality extra-virgin olive oil

juice of one small lemon

1/2 tsp salt

freshly ground pepper

shaved parmesan cheese

 

photo-2

Using a wide bladed peeler, discard first peel of zucchini.  Then with not too much pressure applied ( so you can thin ribbons) continue to peel zucchini into ribbons.  Toss in a bowl with remaining ingredients and serve with shaved parmesan.  Serves 4 as a side dish.

Enjoy,

Irene

 

6 thoughts on “Lemony Zucchini Ribbons

  1. Hi Irene, The salad looks beautiful and I LOVE the new “decor” for the blog!!!! Here’s to a new year of new delicious ways to eat veggies ( and lots of other things as well).

    barbie

  2. the home page is really beautiful. great job micah! the recipe sounds delicious and even easy enough for me to make. will do this week. have a wonderful short week.

    love, your shvester

  3. I made your cabbage and cilantro slaw the other day. And of course it was a hit! I’ll have to try the zucchini salad too! Love Gail

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers