Bubelach (Passover Pancakes)

As a young girl I always thought that “bubela” was a term of endearment.  I am not sure how old I was when I found out that it was also a pancake.  This is a recipe that my Mom made every Passover.  Our friends, the Androns, lived across the alley from my parents and when their kids would run over to visit, my Mom would serve them bubelach.  We always ate it with sugar on top and a cup of hot tea but it is equally good with jam or a fresh fruit topping.

Bubelach
4 eggs, separated
5 Tbsp. matzoh meal
dash salt
3-4 Tbsp. oil

Beat egg whites till stiff. Gently fold in yolks, matzoh meal and salt. Heat oil in large, deep, frying pan till hot. Gently pour mixture into pan and lower heat. When bottom of pancake is golden, slide carefully on to a plate, and invert back into pan. Cook for about five more minutes. Insert a toothpick to make sure center is dry. Cut and serve hot. Serves 2-3

Enjoy,
Irene

5 thoughts on “Bubelach (Passover Pancakes)

  1. Thank you for the recipe! I was not sure about the quantity of each ingredient. And I eagerly wanted to make a bubelach for my daughter as my grand mother used to make for me.

  2. I’m so pleased to find this. My little one was BEGGING for pancakes this morning and since our kitchen is pesach-dik already, I couldn’t accommodate her. This will be JUST the thing. Thanks and Chag Sameach!!!

  3. Hi, Irene.
    Thoroughly enjoying reading your recipes and looking forward to trying some, in particular the mushroom kugel.
    Have you ever tried a mixture of cinnamon and sugar on top of your bubalech? That is our family tradition although we call them kremslech. They are made without separating the eggs but are delicious freshly fried. Michael’s family used to eat them with chrane………..horseradish and beetroot sauce.
    My mother would make kremslech with the leftover matza meal and egg mixture after frying a load of fish. Nothing went to waste!
    Happy cooking.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

