Mushroom Kugel

 

My mother would saute mushrooms, onions, celery and carrots and either mix them with challah for her Thanksgiving stuffing or with matzot during Passover.  It is a very simple combination but if the onions are caramelized to the perfect stage and the mushrooms are flavorful, you end up with a really good kugel.

Manya’s Mushroom Kugel

1 1/2 lbs. brown mushrooms or a combination of mushrooms
2 large onions
2 large carrots
2 stalks celery
4 eggs, beaten
6 Matzot
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
1/2 cup olive oil
2-3 tbsp vegetable oil

Dice onions and sauté in olive oil over low flame until a rich golden color, this can take up to 30 minutes.
Dice carrots and celery and add to onions and sauté for about ten minutes until tender.  Raise heat slightly, add sliced mushrooms and cook an extra 15 minutes.  Allow to cool and place in large mixing bowl.
Soak Matzot in warm water until soft.  Then squeeze matzot and add to mushroom mixture.  Add beaten eggs, salt and pepper.
Prepare 9×13 pan by adding 2-3 Tbsp oil, make sure bottom and sides are well greased and place in 350 degree oven for several minutes.  Take out and immediately pour in vegetable mixture.  Brush with olive oil.

Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy,
Irene

8 thoughts on “Mushroom Kugel

  1. Hi Irene,
    While I love potatoes any which way, I am not a fan of potato kugel, any which way. I just can’t seem to find the potato in the kugel. This is my third year making your Mushroom kugel, and I love it! Between that and some Matzah Ball Soup, I’m good. Thanks!

  2. Hi Irene, growing up I loved linden tea and drank it all the time. When my husband suggested we start a food blog, we were drinking linden tea and he was trying to come up with a name. I wasn’t quite sure if I really wanted to have a blog and as soon as I suggested a name, my husband jumped on it and checked if it was available. Before I knew it, I was cooking/baking and he was photographing for the blog!

  3. Hi Irene,

    I made your mushroom kugel recipe last night, it was absolutely delicious, so different than our usual spinach/leek dishes that we make for Passover. My 16 months old daughter loved it too! I am passing this recipe on to my mom and some friends, I am sure they’ll enjoy it too. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to trying more recipes from your blog.

    • Hi Rivki,

      Not sure if you receive my replies?? This is a standard and pretty easy. Just make sure those onions are really dark and caramelized, that’s where all the flavor is. Can you let me know if you get this??

      Chag Sameach,
      Irene

Leave a Reply

