Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

March 20, 2010
Irene Saiger

11 comments

Garlic Chicken

My mother made garlic chicken every Friday night for as long as I can remember.  She used the same rub on turkey, duck and Cornish hens, the only variation being the bigger the bird, the more garlic.
Bake the chicken in a large enough pan to hold quartered potatoes and baste chicken and potatoes with drippings.

Garlic Chicken
1 whole roasting chicken
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. pepper
1 Tbs oil
1 whole head garlic, peeled and minced

Combine spices in a bowl. Add minced garlic and oil to spices and blend together until you have a paste-like consistency. Rub the garlic mixture on the inside and outside of chicken. Let marinate in fridge overnight.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Place chicken in baking dish, breast down, with about 1/2″ of water on the bottom of the pan. Bake for 30 minutes and then baste with liquid. Add more water to pan if necessary. When chicken is golden brown, turn chicken breast side up. Baste every 20 minutes or so.  Total baking time is about 1 1/2 hours.

Enjoy,
Irene

11 thoughts on “Garlic Chicken

  1. Hello,

    I have found your blog back in 2011 and have been enjoying it thoroughly ever since. For the past 2 Thanksgivings, I have made the turkey this way and got compliments galore. I have made the chicken this way numerous times and also got praises. This Thanksgiving, however, I have a bit of a dilemma. There will be a bunch of people who only eat dark meat, just 1 person who only eats white meat and at least 3 who only eat the wings. !@#$%^&*, sorry for the language. Do you think I can roast the parts separately, and not do the whole bird? How would you adjust the recipe? Thank you very much.

    • Hi,

      SO nice to hear from you! If I were you, I would go out and buy turkey legs and turkey wings and forget the bird this year. My husband takes the legs and slices the meat off with a sharp knife and you can serve three people with two legs. Wings can be cut in half but I still would have one wing per person although the drumstick attached to the wing is fairly substantial. It depends on how much they eat? If they are big eaters, then buy some extra. For 4 turkey legs, and 4 turkey wings I would use the amount of garlic that would be for 2 chickens or so. You need to make it and then if you don’t have enough, make some more. Start with two heads of garlic. Then make one small chicken for the breast person? Hope that helps but feel free to ask me if you need more help. Happy Thanksgiving!!

      • Hi,

        thank you very much for your response. I am basically set on just roasting the parts this year. The amounts will depend on the packaging at the local supermarket. Sometimes there are 2 legs in a pack, sometimes there are 3, so I will either get 1 tray of 3 or 2 of 2s. They also sell a half-breast, still on the bone, which will serve my purpose just fine. As you have suggested I will start with 2 heads of garlic, and have 2 more waiting for me, we just love the mixture on everything else as well. How would I go about roasting the meats. Usually with the whole turkey, I did about 3-ish hours for 13-16 lbs. Do you think the parts will need as long, or will they be close to the chicken timing? Also, should I put the breast in a bit later than the legs, and where do the wings fit in? I am sorry to flood you with all these questions. Thank you very, very much and HAPPY RHANKSGIVING to you and your family.

        • Good morning,

          I find the turkey thighs take the longest but the legs and wings should be done in about two hours. The breast should be done by then also, maybe even sooner. You don’t want the breast to dry out. I would put them in all at the same time. Add some extra water under the breast and keep basting so you have some pan juices to pour over. Let me know how it turns out!! Also stay around 375 degrees.

          Same to you!

          • Hello Irene,

            I am really, really, really sorry to bother you again with this. So now it seems that I will be hosting Thanksgiving twice this year. I know, to normal people this does not make any sense, but this is my family. It turns out that couple of family members cannot make on Thursday but would love to come for Friday night (hint delivered by a brick as my grandmother used to say). I probably could have said no, but my son is among them and he said (with a tremble in his voice) I guess, mom, I will be missing your turkey this year. Well, I am making an encore Thanksgiving as Friday night dinner. Which in a way makes it easier. I have asked the butcher to split the turkey in half for me. On Thursday I will only roast one half and nothing else. On Friday, I will roast the remaining half and 2-3 extra wings. How long do you think I should roast half of a turkey for? Also, should I roast the wings separately?
            Again, I apologize for chewing your ear and REALLY appreciate all you advise.

            • Hi!

              I tried to answer you at least three or four times and for some reason your email kept refusing my attempts and returned it to me. I hope this one reaches you but I can’t promise. I feel so bad that you think I haven’t responded. Good for you!!! It’s great that they want to come, right? How big a turkey?
              I think you will still have to roast it for at least 2 1/2 hours and yes you can do the wings in the same pan. Again, it depends on the size. You may need to go for 3 hours. If I were you, I would call your butcher and ask him to spatchcock the turkey and then cut it in half. It will be easier to cook and quicker. I would tent it for the beginning because you don’t want it to dry out. Then open and brown it up. Good luck and write any time!! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Pingback: Baby Eggplants with Plum Tomatoes « Bamitbach

  3. Hello,

    I am somewhat new to this blog, and can only say WOW! I absolutely love it, love it, love it.

    Sorry to bother you already with a question, but you have mentioned that your mother made the turkey similarly as this chicken. Would you mind sharing a recipe, I would love to try it for Thanksgiving.

    Thank you very much.

    Ailuy

    • Hi,

      Thank you!!! Follow the recipe for the garlic chicken but used at least 1 whole head of garlic, mix with olive oil, salt and pepper and rub onto the turkey at least 24 hours before. Then I bake the turkey at 400 and place an inch of water on the bottom of the roasting pan. I keep basting every half hour, adding more water as needed. Turn over half way through and do the same. If needed, turn oven up to brown turkey last 20-30 minutes.

      Feel free to ask more questions if you have any.
      Irene

      • Thank you so very much! I cannot believe what a blog. It is truly all in one. Delicious recipes, touching stories, and to top it all book mentionings, which I take as suggestions. I have checked out “The Bialy Eaters…” from the local library and swallowed it whole over Shabbos. Of course, now all I want is a hot bialy. So I am back at my computer, trying to plan a trip to Manhattan’s Lower East Side. Would it be too presumptuous of me to ask for your suggestions of where to stop by there, both eateries and otherwise.

        Please continue you blog for a long long time, because at this point I do not know what I would do without my dose of Bamitbach.

        Shavua Tov and again, a million thanks for a great blog.

        • What a wonderful comment. I am so touched!! Thank you. You write and write but you never know who really reads it. You made my week!

          I would go to Kossar’s for Bialy’s, definitely take a walk past the Streit’s matzoh Factory. Tenement Museum is a must!!!! I don’t know if you only eat out in kosher restaurants?? If not, the fish at Russ and Daughter’s is amazing but it is only to go. Pick up a bagel lox and creme cheese. The best! Also Clinton Street Bakery is a great breakfast place as long as you don’t mind waiting. THen you can stop at Yonah Shimmel for a hot knish!

          All the best,
          Irene

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers