Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

June 8, 2012
Irene Saiger

14 comments

Blackberry Buckle

My mother never baked pies, cobblers, buckles, or crisps, and since I didn’t have the opportunity to meet my grandmothers, coming home or going to grandma’s house for a piece of freshly baked pie was just not part of my childhood.  It is only in the last few years that I have thought how nice it would be to have recipes that were handed down for more than one generation.

Thankfully my children grew up with all four of their grandparents.  My mother passed away many years ago but Bubbie is still cooking up a storm in Toronto.  Both grandmothers loved to cook and both had the pleasure of feeding their grandchildren.  If I asked my children which dishes they loved eating when they went to their grandmothers, I am not sure what they would say, but I would venture to guess it wasn’t dessert.  So back to my fantasy.  It could be any kind of fruit at all, baked with a crust, topped with dough, sprinkled with crumbs, or oozing in a buckle, and really who cares what it’s called.  My plan is to bake each of these desserts this summer, all made with different types of fruit and various toppings, until I find my favorite.  Maybe one day it will even be passed down.  I’ll keep you posted.
Blackberry Buckle
Cake:
1 cup flour
1½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
½ cup butter, room temperature
½ cup sugar
1 extra-large egg
5 Tb milk
1 Tb Creme de Cassis
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
3 cups fresh blackberries
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Over a large piece of wax paper, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.  In a large bowl, use a hand mixer to beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add egg and beat till smooth.  In a small bowl, combine milk with vanilla and Creme de Cassis.  Alternately add milk and dry sifted ingredients to the butter mixture, beating well after each addition.  Pour batter into a greased and floured 1½ quart baking dish.  Spread blackberries over batter.
Crumble topping:
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup flour
1 tsp cinnamon
3 Tb cold butter
Combine sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  Add small bits of butter at a time, until mixture is crumbly and sprinkle over blackberries.  Bake for about 35-40 minutes.  Serves 4-6
Enjoy,
Irene

14 thoughts on “Blackberry Buckle

  1. It’s me again. Sometimes we went to Sutton’s (the name of the bakery) together or sometimes Sara and I would go and buy a pie. It was almost always a cherry pie because both mommy and Fanny really loved the cherry pie. You and I and Sara and Liba probably learned to love them from our mothers. I don’t remember ever having a berry pie since mommy made her own blueberry bilkalech. I think just mommy, Fanny, Sara, Liba and you and I enjoyed them. Sutton’s was near Dollar Savings bank and Goldman’s knitting store and that must be how we found the bakery. Fruit pies and pastries filled with fruit, to this day, are my favorite desserts. Must be because how great they were when we were young.

    See you soon.
    Love, Anita

    • Hi Anita,

      You remembered the name! I remember they had a revolving stand in the window. I think your favorite was lemon meringue. You are right, we did not have boysenberries, just blueberries. My own favorite is fresh strawberry pie with a glaze and whipped cream. I use to have a great recipe for that, I will have to find it.

      Can’t wait!

      Love,
      Irene

  2. now we are talking a great yummy dessert. If you eat you might as well enjoy and fruit is a great enjoyment food to the hubby…..

  3. Hi, Irene.

    Looks really delicious. Mommy may not have baked pies but she loved fruit pies and we would buy them from that great pie shop on the Concourse whose name escapes me at the moment. Her favorite was cherry but they were all wonderful. That is where we learned to love every type of fruit pie. I am sure your childen will remember all the wonderful fruit pies you have made. My favorite is your apple pie. Have a great week.

    Love, Anita

    • Hi Anita,

      Funny, I don’t remember Mommy bringing any pies home but you did!!! She did love cherries, that we can agree on. If you come, you can have apple.

      Love,
      irene

  4. looks amazing you are lucky that u r not my neighbor, i will be there already, love rachel

  5. Irene, this looks amazing….goodbye diet, oh but I said goodbye to dieting two years ago so I will try the buckle.

  6. Great recipe! Would loved to try it out =)

  7. Irene– you know I don’t like to bake! I guess I’ll just have to come over and eat yours….

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.