Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

June 25, 2010
Irene Saiger

8 comments

Sour Cherry Pie

I long for slow, lazy days.  For me that opportunity comes once a week, on Shabbat.  It is the only day when I don’t rush out of bed, I don’t rush to work, I actually don’t rush to do anything other that what I want to do.  The morning starts by going into the kitchen and pouring myself a large fresh cup of the French Press coffee that Norm prepared for me before he departed for shul.  I collect the newspaper, my magazines, whatever book I happen to be reading, and step into my backyard where I spend the next several hours in a state of bliss.  I stare at the garden, smell the roses, watch a hummingbird or a butterfly, and read.  It feels so luxurious that it is almost sinful.

As a child, after she finished shopping and cooking, I would often find my mother sitting on a chair  leaning on the windowsill and looking out over the Grand Concourse.  Just watching the people pass by.  Or she would visit with her next door neighbor over a cup of coffee, in the middle of the day!  Sometimes she would spend her morning in the kitchen, making home-made noodles or baking cakes or cookies.

How do we recapture the ability to enjoy those lazy days of summer that we so loved and still need?  For me, taking the time to make a homemade pie is a way to slow down.  You can’t rush a pie.  You have to make the dough for the crust, chill it, roll it, prepare the filling, and bake it.   I find it increasingly important to take the time out of the busy schedule to doing something leisurely,  because if we don’t, how will we ever have time to bake a pie?

IMG_0551IMG_0552IMG_0553

Sour Cherry Pie

Pastry Dough

1 1/2 sticks butter (or parve margarine)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 Tbs sugar

2-3 Tbs ice water

Cut cold butter or margarine  into cubes and place in bowl of food processor.  Add flour and sugar.  Start processor and add water through feeder tube but just enough for dough to gather into a ball.  Remove  dough, wrap in saran, and refrigeration for two hours or up to two days.  Try to handle dough as little as possible.

Filling

2 lbs. pitted sour cherries,  or 2 – 24 oz. jars of sour cherries. (I used the jars and the pie was really good, but of course fresh is always better)

2 Tbs tapioca

1 cup sugar

1 Tbsp lemon juice

Place cherries in a bowl and add tapioca, sugar, and lemon juice. Let sit for about fifteen minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Set aside 1/3 of  the dough and roll the remaining 2/3 into a circle slightly larger than your pie dish.  Gentlly place dough into greased pie dish.  Cover dough with a sheet of silver foil and add dry beans as a weight.  Bake for about 20 minutes. Remove foil and beans and gently pour cherry filling into crust.  At this point you can roll out the remaining dough. My personal preference is for a second crust, as opposed to a lattice topping.

Brush the top of the pie with either milk, or soy milk if you want a parve pie. Sprinkle generously with sugar.

Bake for about one hour or until pie has browned.

Enjoy,

Irene

8 thoughts on “Sour Cherry Pie

  1. Pingback: A Crisp Summer Night - OMG! Yummy

  2. Another great story and recipe Irene. I mentioned your blog and linked to it in my latest post about making fruit crisps in the summer. I’ve been doing a lot of cooking/baking on Saturdays too but it rarely involves dough as I’m still not confident with it. Practice would help but I tend to go for the quick result – the fruit crisp. Maybe when my kids are out of the house, I’ll opt for the slower recipes 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Crisp Summer Night « OMG! Yummy

  4. Hi, Irene.

    I recognize mommy’s dish. The pie looks beautiful on it. I miss her. She used to make a wonderful milchik sour cherry borsht on hot summer days. She would let it cool and serve it with hot whole boiled potatoes. It was so delicious. Thanks for bringing back memories of summer and Fanny and mommy and sour cherries.

    Love you,
    Anita

  5. You almost made me get interested in baking a pie… but I think I’ll just go with the French press coffee and the lounging around the backyard:)

    Shabbat Shalom!

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.