Bamitbach

Sharing Food and Memories with Friends and Family

July 26, 2013
Irene Saiger

17 comments

Jenny’s Eggplant Parmesan

photo-15As a child I was frightened of revolving doors, worried that they wouldn’t slow down long enough for me to get out.  Eventually I overcame my fear, (I must admit I still don’t like them) but in truth revolving doors are unavoidable, and have become somewhat of a metaphor.  People seem to come in and out of my life, particularly at work where young adults are often experiencing their first job in the non-profit world, moving on after several years.  I tend to “adopt” these 25-30 year olds that I call my ” work kids.”  

Jenny was one of those “kids,” arriving in L.A. from Michigan, eager to get started, a whirlwind of a girl, full of energy and spunk, and fun to have around.  After several years of searching for the right guy, Jenny was fortunate enough to meet Sean and joined him in Ohio.

What do you do when you miss someone?  Some people look at photos, others are good at reaching out, I cook something that reminds me of the person.  Eggplant Parmesan was Jenny’s signature dish.  By the way, the good thing about revolving doors is that they have no beginning and no end.

photo-14

Jenny’s Eggplant Parmesan
2 Globe Eggplants
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups of Italian bread crumbs
3 eggs, or more as needed
salt and pepper
3/4 cup shredded Parmesan
3 cups shredded mozzarella 
2 – 26 oz. jars of Marinara sauce or whatever sauce you prefer. Jenny likes 3 Cheese Tomato Sauce
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Slice eggplants about 1/2 inch thick.  Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Make an assembly line with three pie plates, one with flour, one with beaten eggs, and the last with bread crumbs seasoned with salt and pepper.  Lightly dredge each slice of eggplant in flour, dip in egg, and then in seasoned bread crumbs.  Lay coated slices of eggplant on cookie sheets and  bake for about 20 minutes.  Eggplant slices should be tender and golden when done.  Grease a baking dish with olive oil.  Spoon enough sauce to just cover the bottom of the pan and layer with eggplant, sauce,  sprinkling of Parmesan and then mozzarella.  Keep layering till you finish with mozzarella cheese on top.  Add more cheese as needed.  Bake for another 20 minutes or so until cheese is golden brown and bubbling.  Serves 6
Enjoy,
Irene

17 thoughts on “Jenny’s Eggplant Parmesan

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Eggplant Parmesan | Jane's Journals

  2. Pingback: Single Layer Eggplant Zucchini Parmesan | jittery cook

  3. Pingback: Eggplant Parmesan Bruschetta | Eggplant Parmesan Bruschetta Recipe

  4. yum!!!! I miss Jenny Too!

  5. Pingback: Vegetarian Eggplant Parmeasan | janes journals

  6. Hi Irene,
    Just had eggplant parmesan at a great Italian restaurant in Tel Aviv yesterday evening. A little piece of Italy.
    I think you could go a bit further in cutting calories, if you want, in addition to baking rather than frying the eggplant. I would roast the uncoated eggplant slices in the oven after basting them lightly with olive oil.
    Sounds great and I’ll try it both ways!
    Love to all,
    Fern

  7. You are such a terrific writer! I make eggplant parmesan like that a lot. Only Susan does it with a sauce from scratch! Yummy.

  8. Great eggplant

  9. Dear Irene;

    I love eggplant parmesan. Can’t wait to try this. Will give you a report.

    Thanks, Jeff

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.